West Virginia Radio Corporation was founded in 1940 when Agnes and Herbert Greer placed WAJR-AM on the air in Morgantown, West Virginia. The couple already owned the Morgantown Dominion-Post and the Greer Limestone Company. The call letters were the maiden initials of Mrs. Greer (Agnes Jane Reeves).

In 1948 WAJR-FM was put on the air as the first FM station in West Virginia and one of the first commercial FM stations licensed in the United States. The call letters were changed to WVAQ in 1981.

After Mr. Greer’s death, Mrs. Greer ran the various companies for more than twenty years. Upon her death in 1972, company ownership passed on to her three grandsons: Richard, John and David Raese.

Dale Miller was elected President of West Virginia Radio Corporation in 1984. A year later the firm launched the METRONEWS Radio Network – a statewide news, information and sports network distributed via satellite. METRONEWS has grown to more than fifty news affiliates – originates and owns exclusive radio and television rights to the West Virginia SSAC State High School championships in basketball, football and baseball.

In total, West Virginia Radio Corporation operates and/or controls a total of thirty-two radio stations – nineteen in the northern sector of the state and ten in the state capital region – based in six physical plants. Corporate headquarters are located at 260 Spruce Street in Morgantown.